Minister Swears In Youth Board

The Youth and Sports Minister, Hon. Isaac Asiamah, yesterday, swore in a 15-member National Youth Authority Governing Board at the Ministry in Accra.

He tasked the Board, chaired by Hon Francisca Oteng Mensah to exhibit high-grade professionalism and creativity to justify the confidence reposed in them by President Akufo-Addo.

The Minister pointed out that youth development is dear to the president's heart taking into cognizance their role in nation building saying, “…Nation building hugely depends on youth development, now we say the present and future belongs to the youth.”

To the Sports chief, assigning Hon Francisca, the youngest MP in Parliament, the chairperson's role was a clear demonstration of confidence the president has in the youth.

He added, “The president has indeed made a big statement by appointing the youngest MP to chair the board, it tells us that regardless of your age if you are a youth and you demonstrate maturity, the sky could be your limit.”

And charging them for the task ahead, he said “The Youth Authority Act-939 states they should exhibit tact in discharging their duties. When they do well in Youth in Agriculture, ICT, Construction and Sports etc, it will take care of challenges confronting the youth.

“You are to formulate policies and implement programs that will promote in the youth- a sense of creativity, self-reliance, leadership, loyalty to the country, discipline and civic responsibility and a sense of co-operation through the exchange of ideas with recognized youth organizations in other countries in Africa and the world.”

The chairperson expressed gross appreciation for the confidence reposed in her and the team and promised to give their best shot.

The governing board, a representation for sectors like judiciary, disability, construction etc, includes Mr.Emmanuel Sin-Nyet Asigri, Mr.Frimpong Kwarteng Amaning, Mr.Emmanuel Yao Dormenya, Mr.David-Dan Kwame Agorsor, Mad.Vera Wiredu, Mad.Dorothy Akosua Onny, Mad.Grace Bediako and Mr.Joshua Gmayenaamm Makubu.

The rest are Mr.Ussif Mustapha, Mr.Dennis Owusu-Appiah Ofosuapea, Mad.Theodora Williams Anti, Mad.Velda Adobea Atuah, Mad.Agnes Ashun and Mr.Arnold Boateng.




© 2017 - National Youth Authority, Ghana. All Rights Reserved.

Website Content Managed by National Youth Authority.
Contact UsHelp | Staff Mail

Powered by OILSEED Consult